If you plan to implement technology you should be aware that there are technology standards for students, teachers and administrators.  These standards were developed by the International Society for Technology in Education.  Though they are general with the purpose of being individualized for the needs within your school, they provide a great starting point for schools who are looking for guidance when implementing technology.

ISTE provides a variety of resources for teachers and schools to help them integrate these standards into the general classroom setting.  They have created a wiki (ISTE NETS wiki)for individuals to share their ideas as well.  They also include videos of teachers who demonstrate how they implement NETS into their classrooms.  NETS are not written in a way that requires you to add more tasks to that ever so long check list of items you must include in your curriculum.  Instead it is a list of skills that are meant to be coupled with the and support the established curriculum of your classroom.  The idea is to think of new ways to use technology promote the NETS skills while covering your content.  Below I have included an overview of each version of the NETS standards and their proposed essential conditions for successful integration.

The Student Standards, that were updated as recently as 2007, are focused on the following skills: (Click here to learn more)

  1. Creativity and Innovation
  2. Communication and Collaboration
  3. Research and Information Fluency
  4. Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making
  5. Digital Citizenship
  6. Technology Operations and Concepts

The Teacher Standards, that were revised in 2008, can be downloaded in Spanish and are focused on the following areas: (Click here to learn more)

  1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity
  2. Design and Develop Digital-Age Learning Experiences and Assessments
  3. Model Digital-Age Work and Learning
  4. Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility
  5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

The Administrator Standards, that were revised in 2009, are focused on the following areas: (Click here to learn more)

  1. Visionary Leadership
  2. Digital-Age Learning Culture
  3. Excellence in Professional Practice
  4. Systemic Improvement
  5. Digital Citizenship

ISTE believes that there are essential conditions to effectively leverage technology for learning (Learn more)

  1. Shared Vision
  2. Empowered Leaders
  3. Implementation Planning
  4. Consistent and Adequate Funding
  5. Equitable Access
  6. Skilled Personnel
  7. Ongoing Professional Learning
  8. Technical Support
  9. Curriculum Framework
  10. Student-Centered Learning
  11. Assessment and Evaluation
  12. Engaged Communities
  13. Support Policies
  14. Supportive External Context

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *